Maybe it is the knowledge of Facebook using your data for advertising purposes or the fact that now you have been its active user for more than a decade; you are here because you want to know how to delete your Facebook account.
But before we go to the steps to do so, you should know that this action is permanent and you do have a temporary option if you want to take a break from social media for a while.
When to delete and when to deactivate?
Instead of deleting your account, you can deactivate your account for a while. It would be the same as not having an account at all, but with an advantage that you can always get back to your account with a simple sign in.
This can be done by going to settings > general > manage your account > Deactivate your account.
You won’t get any notification and no one could access your account until you reactivate it.
Steps to Delete your Facebook Account
A mix of patience and strong determination is all it takes to go forward with your plan, because it may take up to 90 days to permanently delete your data from Facebook, although your account isn’t accessible by anyone once you request its deletion. Also, during this time, if you log into your account, the deletion is canceled.
But follow these steps if you are still in –
- Click the link below.
You will have to log in first, and once you are past that, you will see something like this.
You will see a warning like which will warn you that once the account has been deleted, there is no way to retrieve it back.
In addition to this, the help section also mentions everything that follows once you choose to delete your account. It includes deleting your photos, videos, and conversations on Facebook. Also, the fact, that you won’t be able to access any app using Facebook login.
- Click on the ‘delete account’ button and you are done with the process.
Steps to Deactivate your FB account
If you do not want to permanently delete your account in case you want to come back to Facebook later, you can follow the steps listed below:
- Go to settings.
- At the bottom, you can see the ‘Manage Account’ option, click on the ‘Edit’ option.
- Read through the details provided under the ‘Manage Account’ option and at the bottom your will see in blue text, ‘Deactivate your account’.
- To proceed further, you will need to enter your password. Once you do that, the account will be de-activated, you can log in anytime later and activate it again.
But we are living in an era where we aren’t used to existing in life without social media and so, if privacy is your concern – Facebook do have a lot of privacy settings. If you are still in doubt with your decision, look at the alternatives before you act.