Instagram is a free application that can be accessed on Android and iOS. It is a social networking application that allows you to share photos and videos through your wireless devices like smartphones, iPad, tablet, etc. It is very similar to the other social media apps like Facebook and Twitter. With its regularly updated features, Apart from the various innovative features that Instagram provides to use it, the app also gives you the freedom to delete or disable the account permanently or temporarily. So you can opt to use the app as long as you want to and delete or disable it whenever you feel like.
Deleting your Instagram account:
You can opt to delete your Instagram account permanently or you may also choose to disable your account temporarily.
A. Permanently deleting your Instagram account
The question of how to delete Instagram account may cross your mind at several instances. Apart from providing all the mentioned features, Instagram also allows you to delete your account very easily. You just need to follow these simple steps.
- Visit ‘Delete your account page’ and Log in
You need to first visit the ‘Delete your account page’. Then you would be asked to log in to your Instagram account in case you have not been logged in. You are not allowed to delete your account from within your Instagram app.
- Permanently delete/disable your Instagram account
After you log in, a drop down menu will ask you to select the reasons why you are opting to delete your account. You cannot move forward without selecting one of the reasons. Now tap or click on ‘Permanently delete my account’ option. Once you have selected that your account will be permanently disabled. You can no more access to your photos, videos, posts, comments or your followers.
B. Temporarily disabling your account
It is always not necessary to permanently delete your account. You may also think how to delete Instagram account temporarily. By doing so, you can access all your photos, videos and your posts by returning back whenever you feel like. You just need to follow these easy steps.
- Log in to through the web browser or computer to instagram.com
You first need to log in to the official Instagram website i.e. instagram.com with the help of either your mobile browser or through your computer. The Instagram app does not allow you to delete your account through it.
- Go to the ‘Edit Profile’ option
Once you have logged in to your account, you now have to tap or click on the ‘Profile icon’ in the top right corner. After clicking on to the icon, now click on the ‘Edit profile’ option.
- Tap on the ‘Temporarily disable my account’ option
After clicking on to the Edit Profile option, scroll down and tap on the ‘Temporarily disable my account’ option present on the bottom right corner.
- Select reason from ‘Why are you disabling your account’ option
You will now have to select from a variety of options from the drop-down menu next to the ‘Why are you disabling your account’ option and then again re-enter your account password. You can only disable your account after selecting any one option from the drop-down menu.
- Now ‘Temporarily disable your account’
After you have successfully completed all the above-mentioned steps, tap on the ‘Temporarily disable account’ option. Your Instagram account has now been disabled on a temporary basis.
Before deleting you can go through the Instagram’s best features, which may change your mind:
Other features of Instagram:
- Questions – Instagram allows you to answer several questions posed by your followers. Answers to these questions are not anonymous and can be viewed by all your followers but you may choose to keep the name of the person posing the question a secret.
- Direct Feed – Instagram Direct allows you to share photos, videos, posts, etc. directly to a single user or with a small group of users by simply clicking on the direct feed icon placed on the top right corner of your news feed page.
- Stories – Now you can post a selected amount of posts, pictures or videos on your Instagram stories for a span of 24 hours. These stories are not posted to your news feed and you can also use privacy settings to make your stories visible to specific followers.
If you find any difficulties deleting your Instagram account please let us know in the comments.