How to Deactivate Facebook Account? From Desktop and Mobile App

Home Deactivate How to Deactivate Facebook Account? From Desktop and Mobile App

Had enough of Facebook? Planning to get out of it? But not sure whether to deactivate or delete your Facebook account? Before you head towards your deactivation, learn what actually are the differences between deactivation and deletion of a Facebook account and what their repercussions would be. 

Deactivate Facebook

How are Facebook Deactivation and Deletion Different? 

Once you have decided to Deactivate your Facebook account – 

  • You can come back anytime to reactivate and start using it. Just a login would reactivate your account.
  • You will be unsearchable and no one would have any kind of visibility to your timeline
  • Your private and group messages would still be visible to others

But it is completely different when it comes to Deletion. Once you have decided to delete your Facebook account – 

  • You have said Goodbye to it and there is no comeback
  • Your deletion is canceled if you log back to your account within a certain period of time – typically it’s 90 days.
  • None of your content would be accessible again, including messages on messenger

If Deactivation is your final decision, here is how you can go ahead with your ‘Break’.

How to deactivate your Facebook account from Mobile App?

  • Login to your Facebook App
  • On the top right corner, tap on the icon with three horizontal lines. You are navigated to a separate account page
  • Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap on ‘Settings’ and then scroll down to ‘Your Facebook Information’ section
  • In the section, tap on ‘Account Ownership and Control’ and then tap on ‘Deactivation and Deletion’
  • In ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ page, select ‘Deactivation’ checkbox and tap on Continue to Account Deactivation’ button
  • Confirm your decision and you are done

How to deactivate your Facebook account from Desktop?

Facebook Settings
  • Login to your Facebook account
  • On the top right corner of your account, click on the down arrow button, upon which a menu is displayed
  • Click on ‘Settings’ to navigate to your account settings page
  • On the left corner menu, click on ‘Your Facebook Information’ tab, and then the ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ item on the menu
  • Now you are on ‘Deactivating or Deleting Your Facebook Account’ page. Now selection Deactivate Account checkbox and click on the ‘Continue to Account Deactivation’ button.
  • Confirm your decision and you are done
Deactivate Account

To get back or reactivate your account, all you need to do is log in using your email and password.

Conclusion 

If you have decided to deactivate its good news. You can opt to get back whenever you want in the future. But with deletion, there is simply no coming back. So decide carefully and follow the steps as mentioned.