One of the biggest reasons why Twitter initially garnered such a large number of users was because of its limited character system. Over time, users started recognizing Twitter as a social media platform where they could connect with celebrities, retweet what matters to them, and voice their opinions on different social issues. But if you plan on taking a break from the social chaos, let’s find out how to delete a Twitter account.
Steps to Delete A Twitter Account
Step 1: First, you must go to the top menu, where you will find several options. Click on the profile icon that leads you to another page. You must then click on the settings button where you will see many options. Here, click on the privacy tab. It will redirect you to a long list of variables.
Step 2: When you have reached the privacy settings, you will see that an option on your screen reads ‘account.’ Click on it and then deactivate your account. If you still do not find it, you can see the deactivate button right at the bottom of the page.
Step 3: As soon as you click on deactivate, you will find a page that has several small points and facts related to your deactivation. In simple terms, this is referred to as the deactivation information that you must read carefully. It explains the terms of deactivation and also what happens to your data in your absence, how to get back your profile later, and likewise. Then, you must deactivate by putting your username.
Step 4: The last step asks you to enter your password and confirm that you want to deactivate your account.
Things to know before deactivating your Twitter account
- You do not need to deactivate your Twitter account if you want to change your username or your email ID. It is a prevalent mistake that countless users have made in the past. You can change your email address and username by clicking on the settings.
- When you deactivate your Twitter account, you must remember that it will no longer be available to view any of your data. It includes items such as your status updates, profile picture, retweets, and likewise on any of the Twitter platforms such as twitter.com, Twitter for iOS, and Twitter for Android.
- You must not panic if someone else, for example, a friend deactivated your account as a prank or a hacker did it wrongfully. You can restore your Twitter account for up to 30 days after it has been disabled. It will restore all your data and personal information.
- Sometimes, users want to use the username or email address for another account on twitter. So, you must make the necessary changes and authorization before you deactivate the other account.
Twitter boasts of 330 million monthly active users. Out of these, more than 40% or 145 million users, to be precise, use Twitter daily. Approximately 63% of Twitter users across the globe are aged between 35 and 65 years old. Twitter is also considered a public address system that unites the world as one big family. Even today, it continues to remain a leading social media platform where people start revolutions and take a stand for various social problems. You can follow the steps to deactivate your account anytime! It is entirely hassle-free and free of charge.