How to Deactivate Messenger Permanently

Home Deactivate How to Deactivate Messenger Permanently

Do you want to deactivate Messenger? You are in the right place – Facebook Messenger is an app that you can find on almost all our mobile phones today. With a significant chunk of the global population hooked on to the social networking site, it comes as absolutely no surprise that Messenger is also one of the most downloaded apps. It helps you to send direct messages to your Facebook friends, and you can also engage in group chats, voice calls, and video calls. But, If you are planning to opt-out of Facebook Messenger, do you know how to deactivate Messenger? Well, continue reading ahead to find a step by step guide. 

Deactivate Messenger

How to deactivate Messenger account

You must have a steady internet connection that shows you active on Messenger. You can use WiFi or your phone’s data.

  1. Open Messenger and tap on the tiny profile picture that you see on the top left-hand corner of the screen. 
  2. Now click on Account settings.
  3. You’ll see “Your Facebook Information”, below that you can see “Delete Your Account Information”
  4. Then, you must click on ‘deactivate Messenger.‘ However, this is not the last step. You will be asked to enter necessary details such as your username, and password to confirm the deactivation. Follow the steps, and you’ll disable the account within a few minutes. Read more on Facebook.

If you want to get back on the Messenger app, you do not need to panic about what to do. It is effortless. All you need to do is download the app again and enter your Facebook ID’s login credentials. It will start working nevertheless. Please note that deleting the app from your phone does not mean that you have deactivated your account. 

Some FAQs related to deactivating Messenger

Will others get a notification if I deactivate Messenger? 

No, others will not get a notification if you deactivate your account on Messenger. It is entirely private. 

Will my Facebook account deactivate if I delete Messenger from my phone?

 No, your Facebook account will not get disabled if you remove the Messenger app from your smartphone. You can download the Messenger app again and enter your login credentials to get back the deleted content.

It is indeed easy to deactivate Messenger. But, the question remains why will anyone want to deactivate their account in the first place. You see, social media can get quite tiring sometimes because it has started dominating our daily lives. We check our Messenger notifications the moment we wake up, and this continues till we sleep.

Additionally, other social networking apps have also gained popularity. Amidst all the chaos, we often forget to focus on ourselves or take some time off our phones. Deactivating Messenger can help focus a little more on yourself and then get back to the portal after some time.