How to Delete Friends on Snapchat

Home Delete How to Delete Friends on Snapchat

Snapchat gained fame at a time when Facebook was also at its peak. With tough competitors such as Instagram, WhatsApp, and Messenger, it is indeed true that Snapchat has created a niche for itself. Presenting the world with the famous idea of posting online ‘stories,’ Snapchat is an app that allows you to instantly click pictures, add a location on them, and send it to your ‘friends’ with stickers and captions. So technically, first you snap, and then you chat. Find out how to delete Snapchat friends in these simple steps. 

Delete Friends on Snapchat

Steps to delete a friend on Snapchat

  1. Swipe Right to find the friend you want to delete
    First, you must open the Snapchat app and tap on the friend’s name that you wish to delete. If you have a recent conversation with them, then you must open the app and swipe right to reach the chat list. Or, you can type their name in the search bar and click on their names. 
  2. Tap on the Bitmoji
    Then, you must tap on their Bitmoji. It will take you to a fresh page where you will see their Bitmoji, their location (if they have kept it on), media that you have shared with them, the streak score, and likewise. On the top right-hand corner of the page, you will find three vertical dots. 
  3. Go to Menu and choose to remove friend
    Click on the dots, and you will get a pop-up box with several options such as remove friend, delete, report, edit name, clear conversation, etc. Tap on deleting the friend. 
  4. Tap on Remove for final confirmation
    You will get a final confirmation question, and you can then tap on ‘remove’ to delete the friend from your Snapchat list. Please note that removing a friend does not mean that your media will be deleted. 

FAQs on deleting a friend on Snapchat

  1. Will my friends find out that I have removed them? 
    Well, eventually, they will because they can’t send you a snap until they are on your list. So, it will remain unsent and say that they can’t snap you until you add them. Yes, that’s embarrassing! 
  1. Can I add back my friends after I have removed them once? 
    Yes, you can instantly add back people that you have removed. You just need to send them a request, and they need to accept it. 
  1. Will our streak break if I remove them?
    Technically, your streak won’t break because you have removed them. But if you do not send a snap to one another within 24 hours, then the streak will break. And, to send snaps, you must be added to each others’ lists. 
  1. Can I send them snaps if I have deleted them from my list? 
    No, you cannot send them snaps if you have deleted them from your list. You must add them. 
  1. Will I get a notification if someone removed me from their Snapchat? 
    No, you won’t get a notification, but you won’t be able to send them snaps or messages. Well, that should be your clue! 

You now know that removing a friend from your Snapchat list is easy and quick. However, you must still think twice before removing anyone because if you want to add them back, you will have to send them a request, and this will instantly pop up as a notification on their smartphones. Moreover, you never know when you might need them, so removing them is not advisable. If you’ve had a fight, move on. And if you added someone by mistake, remove them right now! You don’t want these random people to snap you their lives or look into yours.