A Snapchat story is the fastest way to let people know what you are up to. You may be drinking coffee with your best friend, trying a new recipe at home, shopping online, clubbing till 3 am, or getting bored in your bedroom. No matter what you are doing, click and post on Snapchat for your friends to see. You can add texts to the images, tag your friends, and use creative and fun filters. But what happens when you post a picture accidentally? Well, read ahead to find out how to delete a Snapchat story.
Steps to delete a Snapchat story
- First, you must tap on the ‘story’ that you have already posted. You can find it in place of your Bitmoji on the app.
- Then, you must open the particular post that you wish to delete. For example, if you have posted five images and want to delete the third one, then you must reach that post.
- When you have selected the one you want to delete, you must long-press on the snap. This will isolate the specific ‘snap’ from the rest, and you will see three options on the image. All of them will be at the bottom of the picture. The first one will be a garbage tin. The second one is a downward arrow, and the third one is a right-sided arrow.
- The downward arrow is the one that you tap when you want to save an image, while the right-sided indicator helps you to send that image to a specific fried. Your focus must be on the garbage can. Click on it, and you can delete your post.
- The last step is to tap on the ‘delete post’ confirmation.
FAQs on deleting Snapchat stories
- Will others get a notification when I delete my Snapchat stories?
No, others will not get a notification when you cancel your Snapchat story. However, it will disappear from their updates (if they had seen it), so they will anyway understand that you have deleted it.
- Will the photo/video from my Memories get deleted if I delete my story?
No, please note that removing a ‘story’ does not have any effects on the media that you have shared in your Snapchat Memories.
- Can I delete my story as soon as I post it, or do I need to wait for some time?
Yes, you can cancel your post as soon as you upload it. You do not need to wait at all. However, there is no way that you can stop it mid-way. You must wait for a few seconds when it gets posted successfully, and then you may delete the post. Alternatively, you can turn off the phone’s internet connection, stop the upload, and then cancel it altogether.
- How do I know if my story has been deleted successfully?
To check if your ‘story’ has been deleted successfully, you need to tap on your Bitmoji. If there is no post or update there, it has been removed successfully.
Snapchat was one of the first social networking platforms that started the idea of posting a video or photo as your ‘story.’ It lasts for 24 hours and then deletes automatically. You can save them in your Snapchat memories or on your camera roll. With the steps as mentioned earlier, you can delete any ugly selfie, any unwanted video, or picture because you got a better one in the next click. Be quick, or the world might see it!